WVLPCA consists of members of the counseling profession working to promote Licensed Professional Counselors in the state. Our mission is to promote licensure and professional development for counselors in West Virginia through systems advocacy, networking and capacity building.

Board members are elected for a two year term. Board members are committed to the mission of the association, dedicating their time and effort to make the association strong and healthy. Each board member has specific responsibilities and conducts them with diligence. Of course, there is always plenty of fun, humor and memorable experiences whenever the board is together.

“WVLPCA has been approved by NBCC as an Approved Continuing Education provider, ACEP No. 6267. Programs that do not qualify for NBCC credit are clearly identified. WVLPCA is solely responsible for all aspects of the programs.”

Board Members

Renee Harris


Tony Onorato

President Elect

Randall Clifford


Marc Ellison

Past President

Kate Luikart


Members At-Large

Guy Gage, Lisa Shepard, Derrick Gibson, Andrew Burck, Ric Renquest, Shawn Cade, and Chris Surber

Options and Benefits

Discounts on conference registration to our fall and spring conferences, special newsletters and emails alerting and informing you of information related to our profession, important information related to our voice in the legislative community specific to insurance billing and what you can do to help, access to information about other counselors in the association, their affiliations, their specialties, and their contact information for consultation, peer support, further education or a referral source, and finally you will have access to blog threads in which you can communicate with your peers on specific topics, concerns, resource information for clients/patients or general information sharing/gathering.

Membership Options

  • Clinical Membership
  • Associate Membership
  • Student Membership